Friday, September 03, 2021

As part of one of the fastest-growing counties in the country, the Rutherford County Library Board has established an ad hoc committee to help plan for the System’s future libraries. After seeking input from staff, Friends groups and the RCLS Foundation, the ad hoc Facilities Committee is asking for ideas from the general public about the types of resources and services that will best meet the needs of our growing community.

The Committee is analyzing the resources and services that are in highest demand by today’s users in order to predict the needs of tomorrow’s patrons. This will also enable the Board to think outside the boundaries of our current offerings to imagine all possibilities.

As our libraries are community based and focused, the Committee asks you to share with us your vision for future RCLS libraries and the role they should play to continue to build a vibrant and informed population.

Please send all comments via email at

Ad Hoc Committee Members

Tim Bowling, Chair, Lauren Brandon, Susan McGannon, Rollie Holden (ex Officio)

Linebaugh Public Library is located at 105 W. Vine St. in Murfreesboro. Smyrna Public Library is located at 400 Enon Springs Rd. West in Smyrna. Eagleville Bicentennial Public Library is located at 317 Hwy 99E in Eagleville. MGL Library is located inside Patterson Park Community Center at 521 Mercury Blvd. in Murfreesboro. The Technology Engagement Center is located at 306 Minerva Drive. The Historical Research Center is located at 435 Rice Street, Murfreesboro. Explore, Imagine, Engage through RCLS. For more information, call 615-893-4131 or visit